The Resource Closer than you know : a novel, Brad Parks

Closer than you know : a novel, Brad Parks

Label
Closer than you know : a novel
Title
Closer than you know
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Brad Parks
Creator
Language
eng
Summary
Brad Parks delivers another riveting, emotionally powerful stand-alone domestic suspense thriller perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and What She Knew . Disaster, Melanie Barrick was once told, is always closer than you know. It was a lesson she learned the hard way growing up in the constant upheaval of foster care. But now that she's survived into adulthood--with a loving husband, a steady job, and a beautiful baby boy named Alex--she thought that turmoil was behind her. Until one Tuesday evening when she goes to pick up Alex from childcare only to discover he's been removed by Social Services. And no one will say why. It's a terrifying scenario for any parent, but doubly so for Melanie, who knows the unintended horrors of what everyone coldly calls "the system." Her nightmare mushrooms when she arrives home to learn her house has been raided by sheriff's deputies, who have found enough cocaine to send Melanie to prison for years. The evidence against her is overwhelming, and if Melanie can't prove her innocence, she'll lose Alex forever. Meanwhile, assistant commonwealth's attorney Amy Kaye--who has been assigned Melanie's case--has her own troubles. She's been dogged by a cold case no one wants her to pursue: a serial rapist who has avoided detection by wearing a mask and whispering his commands. Over the years, he has victimized dozens of women. Including Melanie. Yet now her attacker might be the key to her salvation ... or her undoing
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
FIC
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3616.A7553
LC item number
C58 2018
Literary form
fiction
Target audience
adult
Closer than you know : a novel, Brad Parks
Label
Closer than you know : a novel, Brad Parks
Publication
Copyright
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier.
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent.
Control code
1872295
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9781101985625/LC.GIF&client=780-496-1833&type=xw12&upc=&oclc=%28Sirsi%29%20LSC3275950
Dimensions
24 cm
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'EPLCSD': 'https://epl.bibliocommons.com/item/show/2014272005', 'EPLJPL': 'https://epl.bibliocommons.com/item/show/2014272005', 'EPLLON': 'https://epl.bibliocommons.com/item/show/2014272005'}
Edition
First edition.
Extent
402 pages
Isbn
9781101985625
Lccn
2017014010
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia.
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) LSC3275950
  • LSC3275950

Library Locations

    • Castle DownsBorrow it
      106 Lakeside Landing, 15379 Castle Downs Rd, Edmonton, AB, T5Y 3G4, CA
      53.6161896 -113.51481109999997
    • Jasper PlaceBorrow it
      9010 156 Street, Edmonton, AB, T5R 5X7, CA
      53.5234444 -113.59114499999998
    • LondonderryBorrow it
      110 Londonderry Mall 137 Avenue & 66 Street, Edmonton, AB, T5C 3C8, CA
      53.5996872 -113.44307220000002
Processing Feedback ...