The Resource The famished road : a novel, Ben Okri, (electronic resource)

The famished road : a novel, Ben Okri, (electronic resource)

Label
The famished road : a novel
Title
The famished road
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Ben Okri
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Winner of the Man Booker Prize: “Okri shares with Garc í a M á rquez a vision of the world as one of infinite possibility. . . . A masterpiece” ( The Boston Sunday Globe ). Azaro is a spirit child, an abiku, existing, according to the African tradition, between life and death. Born into the human world, he must experience its joys and tragedies. His spirit companions come to him often, hounding him to leave his mortal world and join them in their idyllic one. Azaro foresees a trying life ahead, but he is born smiling. This is his story. When President Bill Clinton first went to Africa he quoted from The Famished Road , which has inspired literature, art, politics, and pop songs—and even been referenced in an episode of The Simpsons . A transformative story for all ages and all times, it means many things to many people. Few contemporary novels have aroused as much passion as this one. Indeed, twenty-five years after its breakout publication, the iconic story of Azaro’s travels continues to mesmerize new generations. For readers of Things Fall Apart or One Hundred Years of Solitude , this Man Booker Prize–winning blend of fabulism and gritty realism by the Nigerian author of Astonishing the Gods and Dangerous Love is a “dazzling, hypnotic” journey through Africa that “weaves the humblest detail with the most extravagant flight of fancy to create an astonishing fictional tapestry” ( San Francisco Chronicle ). Already considered a classic of world literature, it is “a masterpiece if ever one existed” ( The Boston Sunday Globe )
Member of
Cataloging source
CtWfDGI
Dewey number
823
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR9387.9.O394
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
Series statement
Freading eBooks
Target audience
adult
The famished road : a novel, Ben Okri, (electronic resource)
Label
The famished road : a novel, Ben Okri, (electronic resource)
Link
https://epl.freading.com/ebooks/details/r:download/MDAxMDE5LTI5NjE4ODI3
Publication
Copyright
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Related Items
Antecedent source
unknown
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
frd00011946
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9781504040204/LC.GIF&client=780-496-1833&type=xw12&upc=9781504040204&oclc=%28Sirsi%29%20frd00011946
Dimensions
unknown
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'EPLMNA': 'https://epl.bibliocommons.com/item/show/1834449005'}
Extent
1 online resource (504 pages).
File format
one file format
Form of item
online
Governing access note
Access limited to subscribing institutions
Isbn
9781504040204
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Other control number
9781504040204
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (Sirsi) frd00011946
  • (CaAE) frd00011946
System details
System requirements: Adobe Digital editions

Library Locations

    • Stanley A. Milner (Downtown)Borrow it
      7 Sir Winston Churchill Square, Edmonton, AB, T5J 2V4, CA
      53.542897 -113.48975860000002
Processing Feedback ...