The Resource The professor of secrets : mystery, medicine, and alchemy in Renaissance Italy, William Eamon, (electronic resource)

The professor of secrets : mystery, medicine, and alchemy in Renaissance Italy, William Eamon, (electronic resource)

Label
The professor of secrets : mystery, medicine, and alchemy in Renaissance Italy
Title
The professor of secrets
Title remainder
mystery, medicine, and alchemy in Renaissance Italy
Statement of responsibility
William Eamon
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
In the tradition of Galileo's Daughter and Brunelleschi's Dome, this exciting story illuminates the captivating world of the late Renaissance'in this case its plagues, remedies, and alchemy 'through the life of Leonardo Fioravanti, a brilliant, remarkably forward-thinking, and utterly unconventional doctor. Fioravanti's marvelous cures and talent for self-aggrandizement earned him the adoration of the people, the scorn of the medical establishment, and a reputation as one of the age's most colorful, combative figures. Written by Pulitzer-prize nominated historian William Eamon, The Professor of Secrets entices readers into a dangerous scientific underworld of sorcerers and surgeons. Meticulously researched and engagingly written, this gripping narrative will appeal to those interested in Renaissance history, the development of science, and the historical thrillers so popular today
Biography type
individual biography
Cataloging source
TEFOD
Dewey number
610.92
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
LC call number
R147.F56
LC item number
E26 2010eb
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
  • dictionaries
  • bibliography
NLM call number
  • 2010 K-173
  • WZ 100
NLM item number
E128p 2010
Target audience
adult
The professor of secrets : mystery, medicine, and alchemy in Renaissance Italy, William Eamon, (electronic resource)
Label
The professor of secrets : mystery, medicine, and alchemy in Renaissance Italy, William Eamon, (electronic resource)
Link
http://ezproxy.ae.talonline.ca/login?url=http://find.galegroup.com/openurl/openurl?url_ver=Z39.88-2004&url_ctx_fmt=info:ofi/fmt:kev:mtx:ctx&res_id=info:sid/gale:NGMA&ctx_enc=info:ofi:enc:UTF-8&rft_val_fmt=info:ofi/fmt:kev:mtx:unknown&rft.artnum=UKEGVT946643369&req_dat=info:sid/gale:ugnid:edmo95361
Publication
Copyright
Related Contributor
Related Location
Related Agents
Related Authorities
Related Subjects
Antecedent source
unknown
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 324-359) and index
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
multicolored
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
Prologue: Experience and memory -- Mia dolce patria -- The empire of disease -- Medical Bologna -- Leonardo and the anatomists -- The education of a surgeon -- The road of experience -- The carnival doctor -- The new Asclepius -- The marvelous virtues of Precipitato -- Charlatan or wonder worker? -- An ingenious surgery -- The marvels of Naples -- An academy of magi -- The university of war -- The cardinal's house -- A surgeon in Rome -- A road not taken -- Venetian curiosities -- The lure of the charlatan -- A writer for the age -- Venice's scientific underworld -- Mathematical magic -- The search for the philosopher's stone -- A star is born -- The medical entrepreneur -- Ambition and glory -- A conspiracy of doctors -- Leonardo the chameleon -- Life and art -- In the court of the Catholic king -- Masters of fire -- The charlatan's trial -- "Il mio sacco è vuoto" -- The judgment of history -- Epilogue: Traces
Control code
ocn688480946
http://library.link/vocab/cover_art
https://secure.syndetics.com/index.aspx?isbn=9781299565708/LC.GIF&client=780-496-1833&type=xw12&upc=&oclc=%28Sirsi%29%20688480946
Dimensions
unknown
http://library.link/vocab/discovery_link
{'EPLMNA': 'https://epl.bibliocommons.com/item/show/1931792005'}
Extent
1 online resource (368 pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781299565708
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Other physical details
illustrations
Publisher number
EB00178229
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 688480946
  • (OCoLC)688480946
  • (CaAE) ng688480946

Library Locations

    • Stanley A. Milner (Downtown)Borrow it
      7 Sir Winston Churchill Square, Edmonton, AB, T5J 2V4, CA
      53.542897 -113.48975860000002
Processing Feedback ...